A little plaid… Part 4 (sliding door curtain)

The sliding door curtain is a pretty straight forward curtain and provided a great test run to make sure all the measurements and procedures worked.  After the hems were finished, the only step remaining was attaching the little plastic sliders.  This seemed easier than hemming but that false sense of security led to redoing this step twice.I saved the original plastic sliders from the Big Red One.  There are some reproductions available but I understand that the loop part is too big to slide past the sink vent pipe and prevents retracting the curtain all the way.

Edit:  Original style sliders can be found here at Loveyourcampervan.com. Burt’s Bus Emporium in the UK has some fun curtains and information as well..  Thanks Nancy for the link you sent in the comments of this post!

Sliders sewn on every 5 and 1/4 inches. This measurement will vary depending on curtain length and number of sliders used.

All twelve sliders in place. Because I was rushing a bit, my original measurement was wrong and I had to cut the sliders off and sew them on again (redo # 1 mentioned above). Even the final version you see here is not perfect (right side, last slider is spaced a bit further than 5 and 1/4 inch).

The grid pattern helped space the sliders. As it turned out, each grey line got a slider.

Installing the sliders into the track. I used a little silicon lubricant in the track before installation. Hopefully it will reduce slider wear and ease use of the curtain.

Installed as viewed from inside the bus.

Outside the bus. Although you would never know when looking at this picture, the curtain is hung upside down (redo #2). I only noticed it when working on the front curtain. When sewing on the sliders, I forgot to keep in mind pattern orientation for the entire project (the four horizontal brown lines you see at the top are supposed to be on the bottom of all curtains) and I will need to cut off all the sliders and start again – some day.

Installation of the curtain strap. The strap is behind the curtain so it can wrap around the curtain when not in use (see next picture). The screw snap seen here screws both the curtain and strap to the bus.

When not in use, the curtain is retracted and wrapped up in the strap, nice and neat!

While I saved the original slider stop, it remains lost among the coffee cans of screws and bolts. Until it surfaces or I find one at a junkyard, I used a little screw and bolt to keep the sliders in the track when the curtain is extended.

Link to project thread

2 thoughts on “A little plaid… Part 4 (sliding door curtain)

  1. Thank you SO MUCH for posting the process of re-doing all your curtains! I have been using these posts a lot lately, as I’m making new curtains for my 71′ bus as well!

    I wanted to leave a comment on this post in particular, because I wasn’t as fortunate as you in having the original sliders left in the track on my bus. I’ve been searching high and low for the right ones, like the ones you have pictured, not the loops/hook system that most VW parts suppliers or RV stores have. I have finally found the proper ones here: http://www.burtsbusemporium.co.uk/silent-gliss-shop
    Thought I would share in case someone was in the same position as me, and didn’t want to settle for the ones that won’t go past the sink vent.

    Thanks again!

    • Thanks for commenting! I am very glad you found this series useful and would love to see pictures of your new curtains – and bus. It sounds like you’re trying to be as original as possible. That link is fantastic as I had never seen the correct gliders for sale either. I will add the link to the post in case someone doesn’t look in the comments section. Thanks again for sharing and good luck with the curtains!

Leave a Reply

