Buses in Paradise (Hawaii)

Whoa!  Where did the time go? Seems I have been a little lax in maintaining this blog lately.  Very few projects relating to Moby were undertaken this summer, in fact it was a rather slow season for bus adventures in general.  No one informed me that having kids or owning a home would be so time consuming, and I found myself spending many hours trying to keep the house looking nice and in one piece during the last few months instead of having fun in, under, and around the bus.  This winter I get to play catch up here and reduce the multitude of posts in the draft stage.  We will see how long it lasts!

And so I will start with our family vacation last summer.  In lieu of a trip in Moby this year, we opted for a more luxurious trip to Hawaii, courtesy of my wife’s parents and their wonderful generosity.  This was a first for me and the children, but my wife, born on Kauai, spent the first few years of her life there and her family regularly returned for visits.  Specifically, we visited Kauai and the Big Island, both are truly amazing places that catered not only to my love of all things geology, but also to my affection for VWs (not to mention my appreciate for spectacular places)!  Since this is a VW focused blog, I will spare you all from the 1400 pictures I brought home (someone might tell you they are all of rocks anyway) and just present the few we managed to snap of the VWs inhabiting the two islands.

71 tin-top camper behind Bubbas Burgers in Kapaa. We got a chance to talk with the owner who said she imported this bus from California. To avoid the significant charge of shipping a "camper", she gutted the camping equipment and shipped it separately. Because of the salty air, she has the bus painted very two-three years!! Makes me glad we leave far from the ocean.

71 tin-top camper behind Bubbas Burgers in Kapaa. We got a chance to talk with the owner who said she imported this bus from California. To avoid the significant charge of shipping a “camper”, she gutted the camping equipment and shipped it separately. Because of the salty air, she has the bus painted very two-three years!! Makes me glad we leave far from the ocean.

71 bus behind Bubbas Burgers in Kapaa (4)-small

Love the little bus and the instrument cluster!

Love the little bus and the instrument cluster!

I've heard of this modification before and the controversy of it effectiveness. The owner seemed convinced of its value, but I don't think I could cut the vents into the panel to make it work.

I’ve heard of this modification before and the controversy of it effectiveness. The owner seemed convinced of its value, but I don’t think I could cut the vents into the panel to make it work.

71 bus behind Bubbas Burgers in Kapaa (1)-small

Poipu

Poipu

image_1

Some one isn't painting their bus frequently enough!

Someone isn’t painting their bus frequently enough!

image_2

We ran into this camper coming from Waimea Canyon. The bus is rented from Kauai Campers and I've added a link under camper the rentals category on the right of this blog. I have done buisness with them, but this driver was very pleased with them, even though the starter failed on his first bus. They were very quick to deliver a replacement camper. We ran into him a few more times during the week.

We ran into this camper coming from Waimea Canyon. The bus was rented from Kauai Campers and I’ve added a link under camper the rentals category on the right of this blog. I haven’t done business with them, but this driver was very pleased with them, even though the starter failed on his first bus. They were very quick to deliver a replacement camper. We ran into him a few more times during the week.

image

Least we forget the beetles

Least we forget the beetles

At the Kilauea Volcano parking lot.

At the Kilauea Volcano parking lot.

At the end of Chain of Craters Rd

At the end of Chain of Craters Rd

Leave a Reply

