Two new toys

We have a pharmacy not far from us that keeps a tower just inside the front door well-stocked with die-cast cars and trucks.  Normally, they carry just run-of-mill models, but, occasionally, they stock some pretty interesting American classics, hot rods, and, of course, Volkswagens.  When entering the store, I always inspect the tower and have walked away with a few split window buses “for the kids.”  Last spring, I walked in with my son and we both stopped to see if anything new was parked in the tower.  My son immediately spotted a VW firetruck, pretty cool in itself, but this one was a bay window AND had a working sliding door.  He was enthralled and insisted he needed this bus – who was I to argue, I wanted it too!  Unfortunately, the rear bumper was broken and, after checking at the counter to see if they had another one, we walked out of the shop sans firetruck.  My son took it pretty well, but made me promise I would keep checking to see if they got a new one. For many weeks after, he kept reminding me to go to the pharmacy and look for the firetruck.  I tried to assure him that not only did I keep checking in at the store, but searched online as well but had no luck.

Then, in May, while on a camping trip, my wife needed to stop at a pharmacy.  By chance, we found a store of the same chain and Martha went in while the rest of us hung out in Moby.  After a few minutes, she returned, gave me an excited smile, and opened a bag just wide enough for me to see the VW school bus at the bottom – with a working sliding door!  Suh-weet!  My son was pretty school bus crazy at the time and we thought he would be as equally excited as he was with the firetruck.  We tucked it away out of sight for his upcoming birthday at the end of the summer.  However, I knew the firetruck was out there – somewhere – and needed to be found.

A few weeks later, maybe the following month or so, Martha visited our local pharmacy store and, low and behold, found the firetruck – Wahoo!  With both school bus and firetruck tucked away until his birthday, I found it most difficult to keep the secret – especially when he asked if I stopped by the store (which he did at least once a week!).  In the end, he was absolutely thrilled with both – so proud in fact he took them to school for show-and-tell – crazy kid.

VW buses were used as many utilitarian vehicles, including firetrucks. But I am not sure they served as school buses. I've seen several VW firetrucks and many photos of them, but never a verified school bus.

VW buses were used as many utilitarian vehicles, including firetrucks. But I am not sure they served as school buses. I’ve seen several VW firetrucks and many photos of them, but never a verified school bus.

Bus toys (2) Bus toys (5) Bus toys (4) Bus toys (3)

Leave a Reply

